Home Kenya Quick Facts

Quick Facts

Quick facts about Kenya

Full Country Name: Republic of Kenya

Area: 583,000 sq km (224,000 sq miles).

Population: 44 million (2013)

Population density: 75.9 per sq km.

Capital City: Nairobi

Other Major Towns: Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru,


Language: English, Swahili & indigenous languages

Religion: Christian, Muslim and traditional religions

Government: Republic

Time: GMT + 3 hours

Currency: Kenya Shilling (Ksh)

Electricity: 220/240 V, 50 Hz Plugs are UK-type

square three-pin

Weights and Measures: Metric

Economy: Textiles, tea, horticultural produce,

agricultural processing, oil refining, cement, tourism